5 stars, fanfiction, Featured Posts, m/m book reviews

Review: The Light in the Woods

The Light in the Woods
The Light in the Woods by DiscontentedWinter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh, this fantasy AU is so good!

Fantasy novels often need chapter after chapter to build a new world that is both believable (in a fantasy kind of way) and interesting. DiscontentedWinter has managed (yet again) to create a fantasy world I find fascinating and she did it with only a little over 12,000 words.

In a nutshell: 5 Stars

I got out of bed long enough to sneak downstairs, brew a cup of coffee, dump it in a travel mug, and head back to hide in my bed where I proceeded to read this, UNINTERRUPTED by little people (the first day of summer vacation always sucks…my reading time is sadly reduced).

And she posted it all at once! Completed! None of that stupid delayed gratification! No waiting for an excruciating 24 whole
hours
for updates!

It’s like Thanksgiving and Christmas and Tyler Hoechlin’s birthday all rolled into one marvelous day.

*sighs happily*

This has so many of my favorite things. Arranged marriage, magic, tragic backstories, and Peter. Yes, he’s one of my favorite things, and I’m always happy to find a not-evil Peter in my Sterek fics.

It also has a scene that had my Tolkien heart a flutter, whether by design or by accident, I don’t even care, it reminded me of the Ents and it made me smile.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

