5 stars, Featured, Featured Posts, m/m book reviews

Review: Disasterology 101

Disasterology 101 Disasterology 101 by Taylor V. Donovan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t know how to write this review. What I really want to write doesn’t really make for a very helpful review. It would go something like, “Just read the damn book, already! You’ll love it, trust me.” But since that won’t help you out if you’re wondering what to read next I’ll try to be more specific.

Things I loved about Disasterology 101:
1. Cedric, quirks and all, is brave, funny, sensitive, and just like Kevin knows, Cedric is stronger than he realizes. And don’t forget hot. Yup, definitely hot.
2. Kevin. What to say about Kevin. I have to admit, there were times I had to remind myself that Kevin was thirty-six years old. His character just seemed to be so innocent at times. But even that fit within the story, since he was just then admitting his sexuality to himself and was just starting to make his way as a gay man. It was nice to see a MC who wasn’t a manwhore.
3. I loved reading about Cedric’s OCD. It was fascinating to realize that OCD was more than just a funny episode of “Monk” (God, I loved that show).
4. Ava and her adorable little lisp whenever she said, “birfday.”

What I didn’t like:
Only two things worth mentioning. One, there was a bit more inner dialogue than I usually care to read. They did a lot of thinking about their problems and it could sometimes get a bit bogged down. And two, Cedric’s problem with (view spoiler) was wrapped up a bit more neatly than I anticipated while reading the lead up. I would have liked to see a bit more of them working together about it.

But seriously, read the book, love the book.
P.S. I bet Cedric just loves his eReader since he doesn’t have to deal with all those pesky germs at the library.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

